Duck

Leave a comment

January 11, 2014 by Emily Pergament

In all honesty, I haven’t been particularly inspired lately to blog about any of my food experiences lately (although pizza at Forcella on Park Ave. last night was very delicious), but here I am on a Saturday night having just finished dinner and needing immediately to share.

It was my first time making duck, and I made it really well. I have been tempted by these duck breasts at our grocery store so what the heck, I decided to try to make it tonight.

IMG_20140111_191054

I bought a breast that was 1.1 pounds,and here’s what I did: Put salt and pepper on both sides.  Heat oil on the stove and put the duck in once the oil is hot, skin side down for eight minutes. Then, flip the breast over and drain out the oil. Put the whole pan in the oven, which should be at 400 degrees, for 10 minutes. Let it rest for three minutes before cutting.

IMG_20140111_190738

I also successfully made sauteed mushrooms for the first time ever. I attempted last year but they came out inedible, so I was nervous to see how they would come out, but they were great!

Have you tried to cook a new meal lately?

-Emily

Comments

Welcome to FIM

Thanks for stopping by! Make sure to follow us on Twitter, Facebook and by email.

Categories

Enter your email address to follow FIM and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 86 other followers

