A.O.C. and a surprise birthday

1

October 6, 2013 by Emily Pergament

Surprise! I had a birthday! Not what I mean. Rob threw me a surprised birthday party for the big 2-5.

We started out the night at A.O.C., a place I found on Savored and really wanted to try. Rob didn’t even know that I wanted to try it, so that was an awesome coincidence that he made a reservation there.

We sat outside on the patio, which was huge! It was such a nice fall evening. I hope I get a few more nights out on a patio before it gets too cold.

The calamari was served with tartar sauce. TARTAR SAUCE, PEOPLE! Have you ever seen that before? I haven’t! But it makes perfect sense! And now I am a convert. I always/only want to eat calamari with tartar sauce.

Resampled_2013-09-20_18-03-51_875

I had the carbonara because I don’t know how to act at a French restaurant. It was creamy and cheesy and bacon-y and yes, that is an egg in its shell on top. Amazing.Resampled_2013-09-20_18-23-48_627

Rob got the “demi poulet,” which means “half chicken.” He insisted that he heard “poulet” was delicious. I told him I’m pretty sure “poulet” just means “chicken” but he was really adamant about how delicious poulet is. It was really good, but it was also just chicken.Resampled_2013-09-20_18-23-55_696

After dinner, Rob and I went to a bar around the corner. He sneakily got me there and then I realized that all our friends were there! We got a big booth and then before I knew it, an ICE CREAM CAKE was being delivered! Imagine my surprise and delight.*

*You don’t have to. Here’s a picture:
Resampled_2013-09-20_19-50-47_988

And here’s some d-bag taking a cookie from the cake while the photo was being taken.Resampled_2013-09-20_19-54-24_466Happy birthday, indeed.

-Emily

One thought on “A.O.C. and a surprise birthday

  1. Carolyn Parr says:

    Wonderful birthday! Wonderful husband! Mana

Comments

Welcome to FIM

Thanks for stopping by! Make sure to follow us on Twitter, Facebook and by email.

Categories

Enter your email address to follow FIM and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 86 other followers

