Strawberry mint jam

1

August 20, 2013 by Emily Pergament

For a few weeks now, I have wanted to make my own jam. I really don’t know where this idea came from, but it’s been in the back on my mind for a while now. I saw an intimidating recipe in the NYT, so I thought maybe making jam is too difficult for me, until I saw this recipe on my friend’s new blog.

Instead of apricots, basil leaves and lemon, as that recipe says, I used strawberries, mint and lime. My hands smelled like a mojito – which is always a good thing – after I was done picking mint leaves and squeezing the lime, and I wish I could describe the smell of it cooking. Goodness gracious it was amazing.

jam

jam2

Also, as soon as I knew what flavor I’d make, I knew I wanted to eat this with goat cheese. Which is kind of weird because I do not like jelly and cream cheese, so go figure why I have an irresistible urge to eat jam and goat cheese.

jam4

The mint is not detectable on the first bite but leaves a nice refreshing aftertaste. I am such a fan of this jam and so proud of myself for finally making some.

-Emily

One thought on “Strawberry mint jam

  1. Cecilia says:

    I’d love to try this jam! I have mint leaves from my mint plant, but no idea what to do with it. Glad to see your post! So how many limes do I use? I clicked the links above, but didn’t find the blog.

Comments

Welcome to FIM

Thanks for stopping by! Make sure to follow us on Twitter, Facebook and by email.

Categories

Enter your email address to follow FIM and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 86 other followers

