Two green pastas

Leave a comment

July 7, 2013 by Emily Pergament

Today was the day of two green pastas.

First, I had spicy cold peanut noodles (with spinach noodles) at LIC Flea.

peanut noodles

They were from a stand called Hong Kong Street Truck. I mixed it together before I thought to take a picture. D’oh! Anyway, they were really good and considering it was one billion degrees outside, I wasn’t interested in eating anything hot.

Now, LIC Flea and Food… where to start? I think it has promise, but it’s not quite there yet. I know it’s only been open for a few weeks now, so maybe many people don’t know about it yet, but it wasn’t very crowded. I wish there had been more people there. But again, it was one billion degrees outside, and it’s about a 15 minute walk from the subway in a not-so-great area of town, so maybe that was why. I think if they get more vendors, it could be better. Also, it’s kind of weird how the flea and food vendors are mixed together, but it’s fine. I just wish they were all food vendors.

Onto my next green pasta, linguine with avocado and arugula:

arugla pastaIt looks super foul here, but hear me out – it was delish! Rob and I agreed that the sauce was too thick but there was some confusion over how much arugula to use. See in the recipe where it says three cups/three ounces of arugula? Well the box of arugula we bought said it contained five ounces/two cups. Gee, that’s not very helpful! We used the whole box, and the pesto was somewhat bitter. Maybe it was supposed to be. I don’t know. Also, the recipe says to use pasta water to thin out the sauce, which we did. Anyway, it was very good but I think the sauce would taste much better as a spread on toasted baguette since it was so rich.

Hope everyone had a good weekend! Watch something trashy tonight.

-Emily

Comments

Welcome to FIM

Thanks for stopping by! Make sure to follow us on Twitter, Facebook and by email.

Categories

Enter your email address to follow FIM and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 86 other followers

