Strange fruit discovery*

2

July 2, 2013 by Emily Pergament

This is so disturbing to me.IMG_2645 IMG_2646

It is unusual, perhaps abnormal and I may even go so far as to say unnatural. It’s a seed that I pulled out of my grapefruit (as I was making this:

IMG_2647

a grapefruit and orange smoothie!), and it appears to have started to sprout. Is there a botanist out there who reads FIM and can shed some light on this? My intention at yoga tonight is going to be about making peace with this seed (which, I might add, is still sitting on my kitchen counter – scary as it may be – because I have to show my husband!).

In other news, this smoothie isn’t as good as I thought it would be. I just used a whole grapefruit, a whole orange and some fat free Greek yogurt. Since these fruits get pretty watery when blended, I’d add something thicker next time, like bananas or strawberries or maybe just more yogurt, for a thicker consistency. The flavor is really good though.

-Emily

*I didn’t know what else to call this post. If you can tell me a better name in the comments, I’ll give you a shout out in a future post.

2 thoughts on “Strange fruit discovery*

  1. carolyn parr says:

    You might stick it in a pot of soil and see if it grows! A grapefruit tree in NYC!

    Date: Tue, 2 Jul 2013 22:35:36 +0000 To: carolynparr@hotmail.com

  2. Kim Parr says:

    It does have a vaguely alien-embryonic look to it. I can definitely see why you were skeeved.

Comments

Welcome to FIM

Thanks for stopping by! Make sure to follow us on Twitter, Facebook and by email.

Categories

Enter your email address to follow FIM and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 86 other followers

