Mac and cheese dinner

Leave a comment

June 10, 2013 by Emily Pergament

Want to know how I decided to make this for dinner?dinner

Rob and I were talking about kielbasa (Why? I have no idea, really.), and I said “Ya know, I can make kielbasa.” Then I asked myself, what do people eat kielbasa with? I think I heard before that people eat it with macaroni and cheese. Oh wait, my friend at work told me on Friday that her friend’s mom makes the BEST mac and cheese and had just given my friend the recipe. So, I got the recipe from her and went home and made it and made kielbasa and ate it and – against my strong urges – shared with Rob. See how nicely the table is set? With our grown-up decanter and stemless wineglasses? Rob set the table, so I suppose he was entitled to some of the mac too.

kielbasa

Yummy! I cooked the kielbasa with onions since I’d already sliced some for the mac.

macandcheese

Here is the recipe, with my modifications in italics:

1 Stick of butter I used about 3/5 a stick.
2-3 bags of different shredded cheeses I used pepper jack and a mix of cheddar and mozzarella. 
1 Box of elbow macaroni I used whole wheat and didn’t notice until I got home that it was 13.75 ounces instead of the regular 16.
1 can of evaporated milk I used about 4/5 of the can. I used fat free.
1 white onion I used about 1/4 of a medium onion

Pre-heat oven to 350 degrees.
Boil pasta for about 5 minutes; they should still be semi-hard. Drain.

Then, in a pan, you can either spray the whole thing with PAM or use butter I used butter to moisten the whole tray. Then take the stick of butter and cut into 4-5 pieces and place in pan. Pour pasta over the butter and mix, keep mixing the pasta until all butter is melted, grate the onion (very fine) over the pasta and keep mixing (you don’t have to use the onion, but it tastes amazing), then pour in the can of evaporated milk and stir, then the cheeses and keep stirring.

Once you are satisfied with the stirring, put a layer of cheese on top with black pepper and a little bit of bread crumbs. I didn’t add black pepper, but I wish I had. I didn’t add breadcrumbs because I don’t like breadcrumbs on mac and cheese.

Cover tray with foil and put in oven on 350 degrees for 10-15 minutes, then uncover the tray and put in the oven for another 10-15 minutes, or until golden brown.

I would also recommend letting it sit for just two or three minutes before serving it. Rob and I agreed that the second servings were better than the serving right out of the oven.

Comments

Welcome to FIM

Thanks for stopping by! Make sure to follow us on Twitter, Facebook and by email.

Categories

Enter your email address to follow FIM and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 86 other followers

