Robert et Louise

Leave a comment

May 25, 2013 by Emily Pergament

On the second Saturday of our trip, Rob and I ate at Robert et Louise.

IMG_2564

We got there around 6:40, and the door was closed and no one was inside. We saw that they opened at 7:00. We were poked our head in and asked if we could make a reservation. The guy behind the bar said we could go in and that they were open then. What fortune! I thought it would be packed and that there would be no way we could get a reservation since Anthony Bourdain ate there. But apparently the early bird gets the worm.

IMG_2552

We were seated at a communal table in front of the oven. And by oven, I mean that fire place.IMG_2554

Yep, they just stuck the meat on top of the cooking rack on top of that flame. By the end of our meal, we were joined by a group of three Americans and two French people.

Rob had herring for his appetizer.

IMG_2558

And this steak.

IMG_2561

For my appetizer, I had escargot. I had had escargot three times before going to France, and had never seen it served in the shells. But every time I saw it in Paris, it was served in the shells.IMG_2556

For my entree, I had lamb chops.
IMG_2559

I did not get a picture of the kitchen, but it was very small, and it was right next to the fire place. It was probably 150% the size of my cube at work. It was just a stove for cooking the potatoes and escargot (and maybe other appetizers, but that’s just what I saw them cook on the stove), and there was a TON of meat just hanging out on the counter.

IMG_2565And of course he got a kick out of this.

-Emily

Edit 6/1/13 – More photos! Here is the kitchen:2013-05-18_18-53-55_185 2013-05-18_18-54-01_133

Comments

Welcome to FIM

Thanks for stopping by! Make sure to follow us on Twitter, Facebook and by email.

Categories

Enter your email address to follow FIM and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 86 other followers

