Scarlatto

2

February 20, 2013 by Emily Pergament

On Saturday, Rob and I belatedly celebrated Valentine’s day. We saw Nice Work If You Can Get It on Broadway, and went to dinner beforehand. Rob made a reservation at Scarlatto, a restaurant right near Times Square. I was really nervous because I had never eaten in the theater district and I thought all the restaurants in that area were tourist traps.

I’ll save you the suspense – tourist trap or not, we had a great meal.

We (and, from what I could tell, everyone else in the restaurant) started with fried zucchini and calamari. It was super yummy, duh, who doesn’t love fried things.scarlatto

Rob had the pasta of the day. Take a minute to examine how freaking glorious it looks. It was pasta with a lobster tail, mussels… let’s see, what else is in there… I suppose scallops and shrimp as well. It was really good (I kept trying it). Oh and there were some squid ink noodles mixed in with the regular noodles.scarlatto1

I had chicken parm because I am a boring/unadventurous/awful human being. And, of course, it was delicious. As I like to say, chicken parm is just pizza with fried chicken instead of crust. How can that not be amazing?
scarlatto2

And for dessert, we shared bread pudding with ice cream on top. This was a little disappointing because it had hot fruit in it, but I ate around those parts, so overall, it was ok.scarlatto3

 

Will I return to eat in the theater district? I certainly would if it was a place as good as this one! Does anyone have any other recommendations for restaurants in the area, tourist trap or not?

-Emily

 

2 thoughts on “Scarlatto

  1. carolyn parr says:

    Just wondering. . . do you send your posts to the restaurants reviewed?

    Date: Thu, 21 Feb 2013 02:13:15 +0000 To: carolynparr@hotmail.com

Comments

Welcome to FIM

Thanks for stopping by! Make sure to follow us on Twitter, Facebook and by email.

Categories

Enter your email address to follow FIM and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 86 other followers

