Cooking class #1

5

February 7, 2013 by Emily Pergament

Hooray! I signed up for another cooking class at ICE (read about the first one here). This one is a series; it’s five five-hour classes. I had my first class on February 2. Like the other class I attended, we work in groups to make a few courses and eat the meal at the end. Here is what we made:

cooking class mealBroccoli, potatoes and lamb with herb butter

We also made salad dressing, gazpacho and macerated fruit, which was really good. Our table made strawberries in orange juice and Grand Marnier, and we made whipped cream to go with it. The other tables made oranges, blueberries and raspberries, but I liked the strawberries the best. The potatoes were also really good, and I must make those again. There were a lot of steps, which usually is what scares me about cooking, but hopefully I will become less overwhelmed.

So here is my homework that I did tonight:steak1 steak2

It’s steak with an amazing – if i do say so myself – sauce made of heavy cream, dijon mustard and cognac. I thought I was going to get drunk just from breathing as the cognac was cooking. Before I tasted the steak, I thought it would be four servings… but we ate the whole thing.

Anyway, it’s my “homework,” because we were given four recipes to try at home between classes. The recipes incorporate the skills that we were taught in the previous class. The other three recipes I have are veal, pork tenderloin and fish. Unfortunately, I don’t think I’m going to make any of the other dishes before my next class Saturday, but I’m glad that this is the recipe I went with out of those four choices.

-Emily

5 thoughts on “Cooking class #1

  1. Becky says:

    Emily, do you think that sauce would be good over fish?

  2. Jennifer Turek says:

    Recipe please, for the sauce. That sounds delicious!!

    • Emily says:

      After you’re done cooking the steak in your pan, discard leftover oil and remove pan from heat. Add 4 tbsp of cognac and scrape and mix with the leftovers from the steak. Add high heat and reduce by half. Add 4 tbsp of heavy cream and reduce by half again. Stir in 1.5 tbsp plus 1 tsp of dijon mustard and then serve.

  3. Anne says:

    Good job Em. Looks delicious.

Comments

Welcome to FIM

Thanks for stopping by! Make sure to follow us on Twitter, Facebook and by email.

Categories

Enter your email address to follow FIM and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 86 other followers

