Restaurant Week – Blue Smoke

2

January 27, 2013 by Emily Pergament

How I have never been to Restaurant Week is beyond me. Well, not really. I’ve never been because it’s pretty expensive. It’s $38 for dinner and $25 for lunch (both are available Sunday-Friday). Not every restaurant has a lunch menu, and those that do usually only have Monday-Friday, which obviously I can’t go to. Anyway, I decided I could swing a $25 Sunday lunch, so that is just what I did today. After lots and lots of research, my friend and I decided on Blue Smoke.

For those who don’t know, the Restaurant Week deal includes an appetizer, entree and dessert. So depending on where you go, you could save a ton of money. So without further ado, this is what my friend Ellen and I ate.

For my appetizer, I had chipotle chicken wings with blue cheese dressing. They they were more sweet than buffalo wings and less spicy, but they still left my lips burning.rw4

For my entree, I had grilled hangar steak (medium), sauteed red chard (I didn’t know what this was at first, but it was just a spinach/kale-like veggie) and aged cheddar grit cake (that huge patty at the top left). Jeez louise, I never like grits, but I was converted to a grits lover in NYC! It was crispy on the outside, and cheesy on the inside. It was super rich. Ellen tried some of the grits, and she said it was divine. RW1

I finished the steak, but not the chard and grits because I had to save room for….

This enormous piece of chocolate cake! It was served with a glass of milk too. Ellen and I decided it was probably 2%, not whole milk. I don’t exactly remember the scene in Matilda with the chocolate cake, but this huge slab of dessert reminded me of that.

RW2

Ellen’s appetizer was the deviled eggs. I have to say, they were unlike any I’ve ever tasted (in a good way!). I think there was mustard in them? I can’t be sure. Ellen says they were the best deviled eggs she’s ever had and she must get the recipe.

rw3

She had the swordfish with clams for her entree…rw5

…and apple crisp with ice cream for dessert.rw6

Here is Blue Smoke’s RW menu if you want to check out what else they’re serving.

Did you or will you go anywhere for RW?

-Emily

2 thoughts on “Restaurant Week – Blue Smoke

  1. Steven Lerer says:

    I really want to try this place when I come to the East Coast next. It is so interesting that they have to pump the smoke up to the roof so not to bother their neighbors. The life of a NYC bbq joint.

  2. carolyn parr says:

    Emily, I hope you send a copy of your rave reviews to the restaurant in question. I bet they post it or otherwise use it, which should result in more subscribers to your blog, if not a free lunch! Mana

    Date: Mon, 28 Jan 2013 02:06:40 +0000 To: carolynparr@hotmail.com

Comments

Welcome to FIM

Thanks for stopping by! Make sure to follow us on Twitter, Facebook and by email.

Categories

Enter your email address to follow FIM and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 86 other followers

