Healthy spinach dip*

2

January 12, 2013 by Emily Pergament

*I don’t actually know if this is healthy, but I feel like it is.

OK! I’m excited to post about this. I went to the grocery store to get ingredients to make this, and I also got some things to make this:

spinach

By the way, that’s my mini crock pot, and I’m obsessed with it.

When I made this spinach dip last week, I didn’t think there was enough spinach in it. And it definitely didn’t seem healthy. So I tried my hand at making up my own spinach dip.

Here’s the recipe that I threw together (I didn’t measure anything):

One package of frozen chopped spinach
One small container of fat free Greek yogurt
About 1/4 cup of reduced-fat feta cheese
About 1/3 cup of parmesan cheese
A sprinkle of garlic powder
A sprinkle of basil
A heaping helping of black pepper

I put the frozen spinach in a saucepan on the stove and left the lid off, to steam away the water. Then when it was done, I poured out the extra water. Then I added the rest of the ingredients and mixed them around over the heat.

I think it turned out well. It’s super spinach-y, and could probably also be eaten as a creamed spinach side dish, but I like it as a dip (with Fritos, duh).

frito

-Emily

2 thoughts on “Healthy spinach dip*

  1. Anne Pergament says:

    Looks delicious Em

  2. Jennifer Turek says:

    It DOES look healthy and delicious. I like things spicy so I would be inclined to throw in some red pepper flakes or hot sauce. Kicking up the “heat” also helps you burn calories faster. I read somewhere to put as much hot sauce as you can tolerate on everything. I see you used your mini crock pot…I love mine and used it yesterday too. Will definitely try this!

Comments

Welcome to FIM

Thanks for stopping by! Make sure to follow us on Twitter, Facebook and by email.

Categories

Enter your email address to follow FIM and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 86 other followers

