Strand Smokehouse

4

December 3, 2012 by Emily Pergament

It’s been quite a while since I’ve added a new post, but this will be a good one. It’s a new beer garden-ish place right near us in Astoria. It’s actually more of a whiskey/bbq garden, so that’s pretty cool.

All the cocktails are $8 and are made with whiskey.

cocktails

But I was really excited to try the southern food. Rob and I shared baby back ribs, chicken wings, a biscuit and mashed potatoes and gravy. I don’t usually like gravy, but it was really good here. I wish there’d been jelly for the biscuits, so Strand Smokehouse, if you’re reading this, hook me up with some jelly for these massive biscuits!

2012-11-30_19-14-00_6632012-11-30_19-13-50_2702012-11-30_19-13-55_617

The place was crowded. And I photo bombed a picture for my own blog.

2012-11-30_20-31-21_262

I think I will give this place another chance. Even though I’m not crazy about whiskey or beer (their two drink options, plus some soda), I want to try the baked beans and chili.

-Emily

4 thoughts on “Strand Smokehouse

  1. Mark says:

    So glad you put that photo in.

    Looks more crowded in the pic than it felt. But maybe that was due to the whiskey.

  2. Chris says:

    Emily, I work in Hell’s Kitchen. Any tips on where to grab a delicious but cheap lunch?

  3. Claire says:

    You forgot to mention the entertainment! That hipster singer/songwriter was destined for American Idol obscurity!

Comments

Welcome to FIM

Thanks for stopping by! Make sure to follow us on Twitter, Facebook and by email.

Categories

Enter your email address to follow FIM and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 86 other followers

