Creamy bacon pasta… oh yes

Leave a comment

November 6, 2012 by Emily Pergament

You read that right, folks! This is my variation of – warning: very loosely based on – Paula Deen’s Tuscan carbonara. Yeah, I said Paula Deen. And I feel my arteries clogging at the mere mention of her name.

Why would you ruin this glorious meal by serving it with spinach?

Besides making pasta, which I hope all FIM readers know how to do, here’s how I made the dish:

-I cooked the bacon in olive oil on medium heat. When it was done (I like it WELL done), I added in the onions to the pan and kept cooking it for a few more minutes. While the pasta was cooking, I covered it and turned it on low heat.
-I poured a cup of parmesan-reggiano cheese into a bowl and mixed it with black pepper. Lots of black pepper!
-Once I drained the pasta and put it back in the pot on low heat, I mixed in the bacon and onions. Then, I slowly mixed in the cheese. I decided I did need to use some heavy cream, so I added a little, stirred, then added a little more. I probably used two tablespoons total.
*I’m not sure how close that is the the 1/4 cup of heavy cream that the recipe calls for, but in my mind it’s much less so I don’t feel so guilty.

Anyway, this was amazing, and I don’t think we missed the eggs. I made this dish before following the recipe exactly, and mixing the pasta with the egg mixture at the right time over the right heat is just too nerve-wracking.

Yummy comfort food for election night! What are you having for dinner?

-Emily

Comments

Welcome to FIM

Thanks for stopping by! Make sure to follow us on Twitter, Facebook and by email.

Categories

Enter your email address to follow FIM and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 86 other followers

