Mac & cheese & silly Rob

2

September 24, 2012 by Emily Pergament

This quinoa mac and cheese recipe, courtesy of Julie at Homeconomics, appeared on my newsfeed just in time this evening. I have so many ingredients leftover from the recipe contest, and I get to use so many of them!

I modified this recipe a bit. For starters, I used the quinoa prep (including the cumin) from the quinoa salad recipe. The vegetables that I used were spinach, red pepper and jalapeno. And I used pepper jack cheese.

I also didn’t bake this in the oven. I did the good ol’ mac and cheese stovetop prep – keep the heat on low and stir in the milk and cheese until it’s nice and melty. I also didn’t saute the veggies first, they cooked with the cheese. What can I say, I’m a lazy hungry girl.

Voila!

One side note: Rob fell victim to his hubris. He chopped up the rest of our leftover jalapenos and added them while I was stirring it together. I said, “Wow, that looks like too many jalapenos…” and he just looked at me defiantly and silently added them all. Now, he is sweating and red in the face, saying he will die if he continues to eat it (though he IS continuing to eat it), dramatically stating that he can’t breathe, googling “jalapeno allergic reaction” (which he doesn’t have, no worries) and making me feel his breath because “it feels really hot.” Oddly enough, I didn’t think it was too spicy.

-Emily

2 thoughts on “Mac & cheese & silly Rob

  1. Claire says:

    Jalapenos have not been kind to Rob lately.

  2. Mark says:

    Oh Rob…and less than a week before the wedding…you made a poor choice of something to be defiant over.

Comments

Welcome to FIM

Thanks for stopping by! Make sure to follow us on Twitter, Facebook and by email.

Categories

Enter your email address to follow FIM and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 86 other followers

