San Gennaro

Leave a comment

September 16, 2012 by Emily Pergament

The annual Feast of San Gennaro festival is happening now in Little Italy, until September 23. It’s the seventh time it’s happened since I’ve lived in NYC, and I never really cared or thought about it.

I went in 2006 – when I just moved to NYC for college – with some people from my dorm. I have to admit: I was not impressed at all. Looking back on it, it was just a glorified street fair, just like the ones you’d see on any given street on any given weekend in NYC. All I noticed was fried Oreos, fried Twinkies, zeppoli, etc., plus some cheesy fair games that you can never win. I don’t think I spent a dollar there.

But now that I have this blog, I imagine I have to go back, if only because it truly embodies “fat in Manhattan.” Plus, now that I’m a real New Yorker (debatable), I think I owe it to myself, this city and definitely the FIM readers to see what all the fuss is about. And this slide show suggests that there are some dishes there that I should try. So it’ll be good whether or not it (or my perception of it) changed since I went in 2006.

Have you been to San Gennaro before? Did you enjoy yourself?

-Emily

Comments

Welcome to FIM

Thanks for stopping by! Make sure to follow us on Twitter, Facebook and by email.

Categories

Enter your email address to follow FIM and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 86 other followers

