You won’t see this in Starbucks

Leave a comment

September 11, 2012 by Emily Pergament

Java Girl Inc. is everything I want in a neighborhood cafe. As I was on my way to Dunkin Donuts to get an iced tea, I thought “Why not go to Java Girl. I’ve never been there, and I can blog about it. Can’t blog about DD.”

Guys – it’s so cute. When I first walked into the cozy cafe, there was soothing French music playing. You see these barrels of coffee on your right

and self-serve tea in the back.

Then when you go up to the counter to order, there are such delicious looking pastries. The only thing standing between them and me was mother-induced body guilt over my impending nuptuals. Anyway, I ordered some fruit medley iced tea, and paid $3.00 for a large. It is definitely more than I’d pay at DD (especially since I get a hospital employee discount), BUT I didn’t have to pay additional sales tax, which I appreciate.

The tea was really flavorful, and it tasted like strawberries. My cup holder was sponsored by Orbit and came with a nifty piece of gum.

I wish I could have spent more any time sitting inside and enjoying the ambience. I am always on the lookout for little cafes, but I rarely see them around my neighborhood (Astoria) and the neighborhood I work in (UES).

What is your morning beverage of choice?

-Emily

Comments

Welcome to FIM

Thanks for stopping by! Make sure to follow us on Twitter, Facebook and by email.

Categories

Enter your email address to follow FIM and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 86 other followers

