Sprout and about

Leave a comment

September 8, 2012 by Emily Pergament

Editors note: I learned at 6:57 p.m. today that the word is “Brussels,” not “Brussel.” 

Oh boy. I never ate Brussels sprouts growing up. I think my mom hates them.

The first time I had them was last year. Rob’s parents very generously took us to A Voce in Columbus Circle, and they ordered Brussels sprouts for the table. In my head, I thought “Dear Lord, why does my first time eating these have to be at a fabulous restaurant with my fiance and future in-laws. What if I gag and hate them and make an awful face.” But I ate them, and they were so good.

If you’re going to have a first time eating a food you’re unsure about, it should be at a fancy restaurant because it will probably be delicious no matter what it is.

Anyway, I pinned this recipe because I would have no idea how to make sprouts on my own.

Plus, how can you not want to make something that looks like this?

I mean, it is from a blog called The Cooking Photographer, so what do you expect. But I can smell it from here. Click photo for credit.

Onto the sprouts that I made.

I didn’t know how to mince garlic or what a garlic clove was before my cooking class. This is what my minced garlic looked like:

Ooohh didn’t realize it was so chunky until I looked at this picture.

Here are the sprouts after I took them out after 25 minutes:

And finished:

Yes, Mr. President, I did make these sprouts!*

I bought two bags of frozen sprouts, so I thawed them by running them under warm water first.

The recipe was very straightforward, but I made two modifications.

First, I cooked turkey bacon (organic and nitrate free, no worries) to make it as crispy as I could. I added that into the mix.

I also added some parmesan cheese when I tossed it after 25 minutes.

-Emily

*Please don’t read into this caption at all. I will never politicize this goofy food blog!

Comments

Welcome to FIM

Thanks for stopping by! Make sure to follow us on Twitter, Facebook and by email.

Categories

Enter your email address to follow FIM and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 86 other followers

