Did you know…

3

September 8, 2012 by Emily Pergament

Actually, don’t quote me on this, but I believe I heard on the radio a while ago that six pieces of bacon has the carcinogens equal to one cigarette. When I told Rob this, he said “So, I can have 120 pieces of bacon a day and it will be like smoking a pack a day?” Let’s just hope we never have to cross that bridge.

Aren’t some kinds of bacon better for you than others? Like nitrate-free bacon? Or turkey bacon? Someone has to help me out here.

-Emily

3 thoughts on “Did you know…

  1. Claire says:

    I think I saw on Oprah or Dr. Oz that turkey bacon is actually worse for you than regular bacon, because of all the processes that it goes through to turn it into bacon, whereas regular bacon is just naturally that way.

    • Darn it!!! Freaking Dr. Oz. I know that sometimes they use “mechanically separated turkey” in turkey bacon, which is so processed that they legally can’t call it just turkey, so I don’t buy turkey bacon with that ingredient. I don’t know, I’m sure no bacon is healthy, I’m just wondering the least of all bacon evils.

  2. Jillian says:

    I think anything cooked with heat/fire is considered carcinogenic. Hence the “raw foods” craze.

Comments

Welcome to FIM

Thanks for stopping by! Make sure to follow us on Twitter, Facebook and by email.

Categories

Enter your email address to follow FIM and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 86 other followers

