Buffalo chicken stuffed shells

3

September 8, 2012 by Emily Pergament

First up, I made the stuffed shells. I arbitrarily chose to make these first. I’m sure I a skilled chef could have made the dishes simultaneously. But I only have so many pots, pans, burners, etc. One day I hope to have a badass kitchen with skills to go with it.

I bought this just to use 1/4 teaspoon! I hope I use it again.

This is what my mixture of the filling looked like:

It sat out for a good long while as the water heated up to a boil, which took forever! Is there a saying about boiling water? I ended up sticking the mixture in the fridge as I was waiting.

After the alarm finally rang and the shells were done, I scooped them out with a ladle into the colander because the pot was too big and too hot for me to lift and pour upside down.

This is what it looked like before going into the oven.

I bought the only foil 9×13″ I could find at the grocery store. It said “cake pan,” and I hoped that wouldn’t later cause any issues. Well, it kind of did. When I picked it up, the middle started sinking a little, so I had to put my arm underneath to steady it.

Finished:

Here’s the finished product from the original recipe post:

Click photo for credit.

Obviously I am neither a food photographer nor professional cook (nor professional food blogger…), but I guess I expected it to look more like the picture. Maybe it’s because I didn’t sprinkle extra parsley on top.

Modifications I made:

I used a 9×13″ pan because I didn’t read the directions thoroughly.
I used the hot sauce I had in my fridge instead of buying the kind they recommend.
I didn’t count out the number of shells, but it’s probably more than 16.
I put extra blue cheese and hot sauce on top before putting it in the oven.
I used the parsley in my cabinet instead of fresh parsley.

We’ll see how it tastes when I’m ready for my full meal!

To my readers who are good at cooking, are there any glaring errors in my process from what you’ve seen and read?

-Emily

3 thoughts on “Buffalo chicken stuffed shells

  1. Claire says:

    Oh my god this looks delicious!!

  2. Jennifer Turek says:

    Good job! Looks great! You will use that garlic powder in lots of things. It should be a pantry staple. Put it in your homemade soups.

Comments

Welcome to FIM

Thanks for stopping by! Make sure to follow us on Twitter, Facebook and by email.

Categories

Enter your email address to follow FIM and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 86 other followers

