Scary/Fascinating NYT dining article

6

September 5, 2012 by Emily Pergament

God I love Wednesdays. That’s when the NTY dining section is updated. Today, there is an interesting (<–great adjective) article called What Restaurants Know (About You). Basically, some high-end restaurants keep a file on diners preferences, from what they want in their bread basket, to what they want that the restaurant doesn’t serve; from where they live, to who they know.

I guess I shouldn’t be surprised. God only knows what info about me is floating around the internet; I guess I shouldn’t mind that my favorite restaurant knows my anniversary and wine preference (it doesn’t, at least I can’t imagine any of our little neighborhood joints keeping track). But it still seems kinda icky when you think of some of the acronyms they use (for example “HSM” = “heavyset man.” Nice, right?).

Do you want your info kept on file? Are you surprised that restaurants do this?

-Emily

6 thoughts on “Scary/Fascinating NYT dining article

  1. Rob says:

    This is great news – I hope Leng (http://lengthainewyork.com/) is tracking me so that they always have my Teow Tom Yom when we go

  2. Becky says:

    I would hope they wouldn’t assume that I want a particular item just because I had ordered it once or twice before. I might want something different this time. They could ask, and I would probably be impressed that they knew something about me that I didn’t think they’d remember. For example, fresh garlic doesn’t always sit well with me, and I like my salad dressing on the side. I would think this would have to be a pretty pricey restaurant, or I would have to dine there quite often.

  3. Mark says:

    Benihana sends me birthday coupons every year…

    You of all people shouldn’t be surprised about the acronyms Emily, you’re identified as “glasses” at bars!

  4. missk0504 says:

    New follower from Weddingbee–I definitely don’t think any of the places I go to are upscale enough to do this (I live in the fairly rural Midwest!) but I know if I was a regular, that would be kind of cool: of course, I’d kind of hope my servers would just remember, not have to write it down (especially not with some sort of degrading acronym like ATW–annoying tall woman or whatever :P)

Comments

Welcome to FIM

Thanks for stopping by! Make sure to follow us on Twitter, Facebook and by email.

Categories

Enter your email address to follow FIM and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 86 other followers

