Our steak adventure (caption contest)

9

September 4, 2012 by Emily Pergament

What is this and what do I do with it:

I’d say many if not most people who know me, know that I don’t eat mammals and haven’t since I was 12. I’ve been more lenient lately (we did go to Churrascaria Tribeca…), but not once have I cooked beef for myself. I didn’t know what to do with it.

So we took a page (literally) from our cooking class recipes and heated a pan (they used a grill in our class – ha!) to high and then cooked it for three minutes on each side. The recipe from class said to cook the meat on each side for four minutes, but that seemed like a long time considering how thin this was.

Let’s just say I didn’t know how…. bubbly and bloody it would look while cooking. Here’s the contest – since Rob said it would go too far outside the bounds of appropriate public discourse to say what I think it looks like, enter in the comments section what YOU think it looks like. I’ll pick a winner on Thursday. Your prize is a shout out in my blog, and on my Facebook if I’m friends with you.

All done!

I’d say I took ~72 chews per bite size piece I ate. Even three minutes seemed to be too long to cook it.

But I’m proud of our dinner. I think Rob enjoyed it. He said he’s taking the big piece for lunch tomorrow. Unless he’s going to feed it to a feral cat on his way to work, I’d say that’s a pretty legit compliment to the food.

For our veggies:

We bought the pre-made salad on the left (it’s HUGE when you put it in a bigger bowl) and added a green pepper. We used some light honey dijon dressing without an expiration date, but thought would be ok to use after a quick taste test.

Remember to enter the caption contest!

-Emily

9 thoughts on “Our steak adventure (caption contest)

  1. Trish says:

    It looks like rotting flesh, the tongue of a dinosaur, and Hannibal Lector’s midnight snack combined.

  2. Jacquie says:

    That’s Charlie Sheen’s liver on a Tuesday (you should see Saturday’s).

  3. Jennifer says:

    Well first, good for you for being adventurous. You definitely need a grill pan. Put it on your register. I can’t think of anything clever for your contest, unfortunately, sorry.

  4. Mark says:

    What cut of steak was it?

  5. Rob says:

    cherub meat

  6. richardturek says:

    Am I too late? I’m not sure which pic we are supposed to caption, or which inappropriate, obvious answers are ruled out, so I won’t offer up placenta or ****. How about Cowboy Chaps?

  7. us. says:

    Let’s hear it for the veggies!

Comments

Welcome to FIM

Thanks for stopping by! Make sure to follow us on Twitter, Facebook and by email.

Categories

Enter your email address to follow FIM and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 86 other followers

