Cooking class recipe, made at home

3

September 2, 2012 by Emily Pergament

We made the fastest, easiest recipe that we could from our cooking class – fish with tomato chutney. The chutney took the most time to make. I was really excited about it because it was delicious, and I thought it would turn out exactly like it did in the class (granted, our table didn’t make it, so we didn’t get any pointers from the chefs).

Anyway, I stopped by the grocery store on my way home from work and couldn’t find all the spices I needed. I found one of them. I was really shocked, because this grocery store sells pretty exotic food, so needless to say, I assumed they’d have ordinary spices.

I went to another grocery store as well, and found two of the other spices I needed, but there was still one that we left out because I couldn’t find it.

So once I got home, I chopped the onions and tomatoes, and Rob manned the stove.

The final step – adding the tomatoes

Once that was done, we cooked the fish. I got tilapia for really REALLY cheap at the first grocery store. Rob guessed it cost four times as much as it did.

(I may grow an extra limb one day because the fish came from an environment that made it look like this:Not sure if fish being cheap means that it comes from a place with no regard for the environment, animal health, or suitability for human consumption, but I assume it does.)

So, this is the fish once it was done cooking:

That is thyme on it

It was easy. We heated the oil, added garlic and thyme, and waited for the pan to get so hot that the fish wouldn’t stick to it. Then, we cooked it on each side for about three minutes. The fish was thin so it didn’t take long. And here is the finished meal:

Ta da!

Overall, I’d say we did a good job. It tasted nice, even though it didn’t look pretty (we’ll take a plating class next – ha). The chutney was liquidy (don’t want to say “watery” because it was very flavorful). I think we cooked it for too long. Also, there were a lot of tomato seeds in it, which didn’t affect it at all, except it didn’t look like that in class.

Maybe we’ll try one of the other recipes too. They just made so much food, and there are only two of us, so it’s wasteful if we don’t eat the leftovers, which we don’t always do. That’s why we eat out all the time…? I at least need to have that spicy, meaty, cheesy sweet potato hash again – maybe at Thanksgiving.

What meals do you make for two? Do you like leftovers?

-Emily

3 thoughts on “Cooking class recipe, made at home

  1. Becky says:

    I will definitely try this. It looks wonderful. I like the pictures of the finished products. I will eat this before I eat those cheesy covered nachos.

  2. Becky says:

    Where can I find the recipe for the tomato chutney?

Comments

Welcome to FIM

Thanks for stopping by! Make sure to follow us on Twitter, Facebook and by email.

Categories

Enter your email address to follow FIM and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 86 other followers

