Homemade chicken veggie soup for lunch

2

August 31, 2012 by Emily Pergament

On Tuesday night, I made soup in the crock pot. I LOVE the crock pot, even though the things that I make in it don’t always turn out right. (Take, for example, the veggie lentil chili that I thought I was making, but it was the consistency of refried beans when it was done. That’s ok, we ate it on tortillas.)

But this soup is pretty good.

 

I put in:

white beans
black beans
carrots
spinach
lots of onions
lots of peas
one chicken breast
chicken stock

I used low sodium ingredients where I could, because canned beans and chicken stock are FULL of sodium, usually. I also added some water until it was the consistency I wanted. I only bought one can of chicken stock, and that didn’t seem to be enough. I cooked it on low for about 5.5 hours.

It turned out ok. The good parts were – it’s very cheap, pretty healthy, makes a lot (between the two of us, we got five lunchs), and it tasted ok after I added pepper. The bad parts were – the chicken didn’t taste good (kind of dry) and there wasn’t a lot of flavor until I added a hearty dose pepper.

Do you love your crock pot?

What can seasonings can I add next time? How do I make the chicken less dry? Chicken always seems to dry out when I make it in the crock pot.

-Emily

2 thoughts on “Homemade chicken veggie soup for lunch

  1. Jennifer says:

    The trick to good soup is seasoning…use lots of it. Not so much salt (but you do need SOME) but garlic, Italian, pepper etc. I also like to throw in hot sauce or red pepper flakes in my individual bowl but that’s because I like things spicy. You can’t really mess it up. And throw in a can of rinsed black beans for fiber. I also use Todd’s Dirt which is a local concoction. I’ll buy you some. Love, Mom

  2. Jennifer says:

    Oh you had black beans….nevermind. The chicken was dry? hmm. Maybe cook that first and then add that later….like cook it in a grill pan. Then just add before you are going to warm it up or about a half hour before serving.

Comments

Welcome to FIM

Thanks for stopping by! Make sure to follow us on Twitter, Facebook and by email.

Categories

Enter your email address to follow FIM and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 86 other followers

